Experts list

The Magna Carta 800 Committee for New Zealand is creating a list of experts in New Zealand who can speak about Magna Carta, the rule of law and rights, and associated topics including more current applications such as a Magna Carta for the Earth or a Digital Magna Carta. If the media or an organization contacts us to identify someone to speak they will be referred to this list and it will go on our website.

If you would like to go on this list please click here.

Current list of Experts

Experts in the area of the history and events surrounding the Magna Carta

Name: Chris Jones
Institution/organization: History department, University of Canterbury
Expertise: Medieval historian, specifically the Magna Carta and the history surrounding it.
Contacts: chris.jones@canterbury.ac.nz

Name: Dr Lindsay Diggelmann
Institution/organization: Discipline of History, School of Humanities, University of Auckland
Expertise: Medieval Origins and History of Magna Carta
Contacts:
Email: l.diggelmann@auckland.ac.nz
Office phone: 09-9237099

Name: Michael Littlewood
Institution/organization: University of Auckland Law School
Expertise: Tax; Magna Carta and Tax
Contacts: m.littlewood@auckland.ac.nz; 923 5633; http://www.law.auckland.ac.nz/people/m-littlewood

Māori/Indigenous rights and the Treaty of Waitangi

Name: Professor David V Williams
Institution/organisation: Faculty of Law, University of Auckland
Expertise: English and colonial legal history; commentary on the coincidence of Magna Carta’s 800th anniversary with the Treaty of Waitangi’s 175th anniversary and the fact that the Treaty of Waitangi has often been called ‘the Maori Magna Carta’.
Contacts: E-mail: dv.williams@auckland.ac.nz Phone: (09) 923 5639 Mobile: 021 147 1971
Website: http://www.law.auckland.ac.nz/people/dv-williams

Name: Carwyn Jones
Institution/organization: Faculty of Law, Victoria University of Wellington
Expertise: Māori/Indigenous rights, Treaty of Waitangi
Contacts: carwyn.jones@vuw.ac.nz
(04) 4636313

Rule of law and Bill of Rights in New Zealand and Beyond

Name: Rt Hon Geoffrey Palmer QC (please note away from March 14th until May 2nd)
Institution/organization: Harbour Chambers
Expertise: Magna Carta, the rule of law and the Bill of Rights.
Contacts: geoffrey.palmer@xtra.co.nz

Name: Grant Morris
Institution/organization: Victoria University of Wellington
Expertise: The Magna Carta and its impact on the NZ legal system.
Contacts: grant.morris@vuw.ac.nz 0276568556

Name: Professor Janet McClean
Institution/organisation: Faculty of Law, University of Auckland
Expertise: Bills of Rights and rights protection.
Contacts: E-mail: j.mclean@auckland.ac.nz

Name: Alexander Gillespie
Institution/organization: University of Waikato
Expertise: rule of law, civil rights, legal history and its importance today
Contacts:
Email: azg@waikato.ac.nz
Phone: +64 7 838 4466 x 6438
Website: http://www.waikato.ac.nz/law/

Name: Dean Knight
Institution/organization: Victoria University of Wellington, Faculty of Law and New Zealand Centre for Public Law
Expertise: Judicial review and the rule of law
Contacts: dean.knight@vuw.ac.nz

Name: Stephen Winter
Institution/organization: The University of Auckland, Politics and International Relations, School of Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts
Expertise: Rule of law, legal philosophy, jurisprudence
Contacts: s.winter@auckland.ac.nz

Human rights and the Magna Carta

Name: Dr Anita Lacey
Institution/organization: The University of Auckland, Politics and International Relations, School of Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts
Expertise: rights/law in relation to gender, protest
Contacts: a.lacey@auckland.ac.nz

Name: Stephen Hoadley
Institution/organization: The University of Auckland, Politics and International Relations, School of Social Sciences, Faculty of Arts
Expertise: How Magna Carta grew from a truce among English rebel warlords to became an international symbol of human rights. How power relations produced the Magna Carta and continue to shape the realisation of Magna Carta ideals in the 21st century. How Magna Carta-inspired human rights can be meaningfully protected only if embedded in authoritative institutions.
Contacts: s.hoadley@auckland.ac.nz 0274-921-333

Name: Dr Petra Butler
Institution/organization: Victoria University of Wellington
Expertise: Human rights
Contacts: petra.butler@vuw.ac.nz

Name: Scott Walker
Institution/organization: Political science department, University of Canterbury.
Expertise: Human rights, political rights, and civil liberties
Contacts:
Phone: 03 364 2160
Email: scott.walker@canterbury.ac.nz

Name: Dr Stephen May
Institution/organization: Faculty of Education, University of Auckland
Expertise: Language rights
Contacts: s.may@auckland.ac.nz

Name: Catherine Iorns
Institution/organization: Victoria University of Wellington, Faculty of Law
Expertise: Environmental rights, including the intersection of human rights and environment.
Also the historical Charter of the Forest 1217, made in conjunction with the Magna Carta.
Contacts: Catherine.Iorns@vuw.ac.nz

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s